NYS Disability (Non-Exempt Employees)

Question 1: What is New York State Disability?

Answer: New York State Statutory Disability Benefits provide eligible non-exempt staff with partial loss of earnings during a non-job-related injury or illness.

Question 2: When does Risk Management need to be notified?

Answer: When a non-exempt employee is out of work for more than one continuous calendar week (normally 5 working days). If you are disabled for more than one week, you must apply for New York State Disability Benefits.  (DB450)

Question 3: How long do I have to return the completed DB450?

Answer: In accordance with NYS Law, within 30 days of the date you become disabled, you must return the completed db450 to the Risk Management Department. Failure to file your claim on time may result in the loss of some or all of your benefits.

Complete, sign and date Part A (Claimant’s Statement).  Have your doctor complete and sign Part B (Doctor’s Statement).

Question 4: What documentation do I need to be able to return to work?

Answer:  You must follow the return to work procedures and submit the completed return to work form.   The DB-450 or a doctor’s note DO NOT satisfy the required documentation to return to work.  You will NOT be able to return to work without the proper form.

Question 5:  What benefits are a full-time, regular part-time employee, or temporary employee eligible for?

Answer:  As a full-time or regular part-time employee with a hire date that is before the current fiscal year, you may be eligible for the University’s Supplemental Benefits Plan, in addition to NYS Statutory Disability benefits.  As a full-time, regular part-time employee or temporary employee with a hire date that is after the beginning of the current fiscal year, you may be eligible for NYS Statutory Disability benefits.

Question 6:  Is my time on disability credited toward allowable leave under the Family Medical Leave Act?

Answer: Your time on disability will be credited towards allowable leave under the Family Medical Leave Act.

Question 7:  Will I be paid sick time for my first 5 days out of work?

Answer: Your department will pay your sick time based on your individual eligibility.  Contact your supervisor.

For further information, please email Sheera Buckley or call her at 315.443.5106.